6 comments on “True Dat! True Dat!

  1. I love that quote. I wish I was able to see the lecture, I wasn’t able to make it. The emptiness of today’s hip hop gangster lifestyle always makes me wonder what would’ve happened if Public Enemy was more popular and influential than NWA.

  2. We should be careful not to make the assumption that everything “uppercrust” is bad and without merit, and that all things over-looked are necessarily good. I don’t think it is productive to generalize and dismiss work based upon its status in the market or in the “art-world” without actually looking and evaluating it on an individual basis..

    However flash-in-the-pan some contemporary art may be, i would venture to say those people work just as hard as the overlooked. Afterall, you can’t produce work without working hard, and without any work to show how can you be “successful”?

    Whether or not the work is good is a matter of taste, not all work is for everyone.

    Anyone who can maintain a creative practice and be fortunate enough to reach any level of success earns my respect. If i like, or think the work is strong, is a different question with a different set of criteria.

  3. I don’t think the quote has anything to do with being uppercrust, but taken in context with Austin as a whole, for example, how easy is it for rich art buyers to shop for art on West 6th and never cross 35 to see the artists on the EAST tour?

    I don’t want to get into a battle comparing the worthiness of a Will Klemm pastel to a Rory Skagen painting, but I don’t believe the gallery system, and for that matter, the major label system in music, does very much good for the artists. Someone skimming 50% off the top of the price of art is a bit insane, and with the internet and simple ways for artists to get their work out into the public (alternative galleries, open studios, small labels, music downloads), it keeps the money where it should be.

    As for the quality of the work being seen, talked about, respected, and bought – well, that’s beyond anyone’s guess.

  4. I recently had a conversation with someone who said, “People love to see the little guy make it to the top.” Being a pessimist I responded, “But at the same time, they love to watch the top dog fall.”

    You can not have your ying without your yang. No light without darkness, no Batman without Joker. But bring together the peanut butter and jelly and you will have lunch.

  5. I was commenting on the bit after the quote when i used the word “uppercrust”.

    I don’t want to argue about the gallery system or the taste of the art-market, however, a gallery is a buisness and as such they have expenses. Galleries often put their own money up-front for their artist’s production, publication, shipping and framing costs, so it is right for them to want to re-coup that expenditure. They take care of the buisness and networking aspects that i personally, as somone who makes things, would rather not do, and for me thats worth the 50%. (which is a great deal by the way) If someone wants to spend their hard-earned dollars on me and my work; open a space and hire employees that in effect work for me by promoting and selling it, I think thats great. Anthing that gives me more time and energy for actually making something gets high marks in my book.

Leave a Reply

