8 comments on “Have A Seat, There’s Some Things We Need To Talk About.

  1. Actually, wait, here’s what I meant to say: true Austin’s housing is getting way out of control. Much easier to find something affordable here in Atlanta at the moment. I was amazed by what I found for relatively little money. On all other counts, however, I constantly refer to Austin as a city that’s got it right in terms of keeping its grassroots culture humming.

    Odd how different cities formulate different identities for themselves, and how entrenched they can be. Still haven’t figured out that mechanism. For example, Atlanta’s had its own Cantanker-like publication for much longer than Austin, yet… it doesn’t resonate here the same way. Almost as though, you know everyone else is going to ignore it, so everyone ignores it because they’re sure everyone else is going to ignore it, too. Something like that.

    I actually think it’s a pretty easy situation to change, but takes time…

  2. I admire AP, just didn’t want to sound like I was brown-nosing. But I guess when Gallery Lombardi, Jeanne Claire from the Statesman, and RDA give him props, I can too.

    The grassroots culture does look like its moving along. I just wonder if the scene isn’t becoming segregated. I mean, it was the collection of artisans and designers that made EAST possible. That energy, plus Gallery Lombardi’s group shows and Fresh Up Club, Camp Fig and Bolm Studio’s DIY attitude opened up the opportunity for Art Palace.

    Art Palace was the turning point and is the bridge between Volitant, Okay Mountain, Donkey Show and testsite. With this focus of energy on the east side, it goes along with the gentrification. I sees the art as academic, so that leaves me wondering where the artisans are at. Are they being pushed out as Austin promotes a market-friendly, hipster type of art scene? Or conversely, can Austin maintain its camraderie and mimic San Antonio’s longevity in self-nurtured activity?

    Oh and Cinque, I’m salvo cheque on your boards.

  3. Regardless of the true definition of hipster, I was thinking of a scene that emulates New York (blemishes and all). And wondering if that is what this community really wants. The idea of an art market that is identical to a corporate economy market is scary.

    And as I’ve been reading some hints at the death of the “youth culture infatuation” and see the reacquaintance of established/ mid-career artists, I wonder what will happen locally.

    I like the “brotherhood” of San Antonio, but without collectors here in Austin I don’t know if that can happen. A robust scene is what we need, just trying to figure out what that looks like.

  4. “… the idea that artists need to take back their profession and are doing so across the country”

    That is indeed an important notion, and was instigated and is being carried out by the folks behind Wesley Kimler over at Sharkforum. Please check in and contribute — and take back YOUR own Texas artworld. http://www.sharkforum.org

Leave a Reply

